New Year New Coordniator: February Update

Hello!

I hope this first blog finds you well and enjoying a good start to 2012.

As many of you know I am the new Youth Coordinator – Erica and with support from staff at Poynton Town Council and community partners I am settling in well and looking forward to meeting many of you over the coming months. As we’re now very much into 2012, I’d like to share with you some of the events and upcoming projects that I’m coordinating.

Poynton 2012 Embrace The Games

The first of these is the continuation of our exciting project Poynton’s Gold, which will culminate in a family fun day celebration for the London 2012 Games. With a working party including, Cheshire East Council, Poynton Town Council, Poynton Neighbourhood Policing Team, Poynton High School and the Leisure Centre, the plan is to celebrate ‘Poynton 2012: Embrace the Games’ on Saturday June 16th, 2012. With continued support from local businesses such as Peaks and Plains Housing Trust and, “Johnnie” Johnson Housing Trust  this event will be a great opportunity for members of the community to join together and celebrate the London Olympic Games 2012. Weather wise it should be more promising than the rain experienced in August, but don’t hold me to that!

As we get stuck into planning the Poynton 2012 Embrace the Games event, I’m hoping we can be supported by the young people, firstly because we can’t do this alone and secondly I’m really keen to get to know the young people of Poynton and make sure I’m coordinating the sort of things they like to do! I’m meeting with students from the high school in early February to get their views and any young people reading this do leave a comment or get back to me with your thoughts too.

In true spirit of the games, there will be an opening and closing ceremony on the day.  The opening ceremony will consist of a cycling parade of young people, youth groups and community organisations. The closing ceremony will include an awards ceremony and prize giving. We plan on inviting local Olympic heroes to present medals, (if they’re not too busy training!) so if anyone knows of a local Olympiad let me know. I’m really excited about this event and will be calling on you for your support, so if you’d like to help out on the day please contact me!

The Connect Team

I’m really keen to meet members of the community so I’ve been getting to know what The Connect Team gets up to on a Friday night. I was lucky enough to go out with them in January and it was great to see the work that they do. We chatted to young people out in Poynton and the team do a great job to ensure Friday nights are as safe as possible in Poynton.

Poynton Bike Scheme

If you read the Poynton Neighbourhood Policing Team Newsletter you might have seen some information about a project PCSO Chris Luke is starting, involving bicycle marking. The hope is that in partnership with the Town Council we can raise awareness of bike security and set up a maintenance scheme. I’ll keep you updated with more info on this as the project develops.

Youth Civic Awards

I’m also starting to think about the Youth Civic Awards so over the next few months I will come to you asking for recommendations. If you know of any young people who you think could be nominated for a Youth Civic Award do contact me via email (my details can be found on the contact page). Let’s keep this confidential though we wouldn’t want nominations leaked too soon!

Blogging!

Check out the other pages on this blog to see ‘what’s on’ in Poynton and the local area over the coming month and see the ‘we need you’ page for joining groups and clubs. I hope this blog will be accessed by as many people as possible so do pass the link on and get more people reading about the youth projects in Poynton!

Thanks for all your support in getting this blog going and if you’ve got something to promote go to the contact page and get in touch!

Best wishes and thanks for reading, Erica

Leave a Reply

